Meet Dee Dees

Hi,  dee-dees1

I’m the Yore Town advisory council member whose name sounds like a stutter… Dee Dees.  I live in Gilbert, AZ; Hay Capital of the world in the 1920’s, 1975 population of 3,000, and now a town of well over 200,000. Now there’s a story! I’ve been a Personal Historian for the last 12 years, helping others to write their life stories for future generations. I’ve authored two books on the topic of life-writing, so it’s something I believe strongly in.

The Yore Town concept is so exciting to me. I see it as a means to get others enthused about and involved in contributing to local and personal histories.

As a writer and personal historian, I’ve talked to so many people whose reasons for writing their stories are almost always a variation of… “my kids (spouse, grandkids, friends, etc) have been after me to get my life story written. I don’t think it’s all that interesting, but they seem to think it’s fascinating.”

These stories need to be told. It’s history from the perspective of those who lived it, not just the historians who document the experiences of others.  I help people get those stories down on paper, so their children, grandchildren, and generations to come, will have a better understanding of who they are, where they came from, and the struggles, challenges, joys and successes that contributed to their lives.

I hope this venue gets many more people involved and interested in getting these stories down for posterity. If I can help accomplish that, I’m happy and excited to do so.

If you want to learn more about the personal history process, check out my LifeStory Lady site or my blog. 

Published in: on January 15, 2009 at 6:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://yoretown.wordpress.com/2009/01/15/meet-dee-dees/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

